Hoover Succeeds Koger As President Of HMBA

LAS VEGAS? HMBA: America?s Hotel Brokers installed its new board of directors at its 41st annual meeting held here. Lynn Hoover, president, Hoover Lodging, was installed as president of the association. He succeeds Rob Koger, CHB, president of Molinaro Koger. In 1999 HMBA brokers closed approximately 210 transactions worth nearly $550 million, said Hoover during his inaugural remarks. Other officers included Vice President: Tony DeGeorge, president, Greene, Canfield, DeGeorge; Secretary: Greer Lee, vp, Scoggin-Blue Associates; Treasurer: Ron McCord, president, Milmark Hotel/Motel Investments. Directors of the association include: William Lazarus, CHB, vp, Bruce Holmes & Associates; David Schwandt, president, Harbour Hotel/Motel Brokers; Brandt Niehaus, CHB, president, Huff-Niehaus & Associates; Dick Lopez, CHB, president, Lodging Property Brokers; Peter Holmes, vp, Bruce Holmes & Associates; Fred Ferrarini, vp, Motel Hotel Specialists and Rob Koger, CHB, president, Molinaro Koger. The association also recognized sales achievement in 1999.Molinaro Koger took a majority of the awards with Broker of the Year awarded to Rob Koger, CHB, president. Koger also captured the largest single hotel sale for the Sheraton Premiere Hotel in Tysons Corner, VA for $53,000,000. Mark Morris, vp, was recognized as Salesperson of the Year and Andy Kern, vp, was the recipient of Rookie of the Year for 11 transactions totaling $40 million. Fred Ferrarini, vp, Motel Hotel Specialists, was honored with the Largest Portfolio Sale for five boutique and resort properties located on the California coast for $58 million. The Unique Deal of the Year involved a 1031 exchange of three historic properties located near Chicago?s Wrigley Field. These properties were converted from apartment buildings into European-style boutique hotels. These were then exchanged for the purchase, development and renovation of the 110-room Manhattan Hotel Memphis, TN. Walter Broadfoot, president, Broadfoot Hotel Brokers, was the recipient. HMBA awarded five members the 10/10 award signifying individual involvement in 10 or more transactions valued at $10 million or more. Recipients of this award were Rob Koger, CHB, president, Molinaro Koger; Mark Morris, CHB, vp, Molinaro Koger; John Jameson, vp, Molinaro Koger, David Mumford, CHB, president, The Mumford Co.; and Steve Albis, associate, The Mumford Co. Top sales performance by geographical region was also recognized. The top broker for each region were as follows: Northeast/Mid-Atlantic: Patrick Ford, CHB, president, New England/National Hotel Realty; South Atlantic: David Mumford, CHB, president, The Mumford Co.; South Central: Walter Broadfoot, president, Broadfoot Hotel Brokers; North Central: Gary Smith, CHB, president, Michigan Hotel Brokers; Mountain Pacific: Chuck Nester, CHB, president, Brown Hotel Group. Top salesperson by region were as follows: Northeast/ Mid-Atlantic: Earle Wason, associate, New England/ National Hotel Realty; South Atlantic: John Jameson, senior vp, Molinaro Koger; South Central: Chip Broadfoot, vp, Broadfoot Hotel Brokers; North Central: Meril Dean, CHB, vp, Michigan Hotel Brokers; Mountain Pacific: Fred Ferrarini, vp, Motel Hotel Specialists. Tom Fox, president, T.J. Fox & Associates, and Jasper Melilli, president, Melilli Companies, were both granted honorary membership in HMBA based on their long tenure and significant contributions. Chuck Nester, president of Brown Hotel Group, was given the Noah Canfield Award for Distinguished Service.