Hilton Worldwide Honors Top Hotel Owners in the Americas

MCLEAN, VA—Hilton Worldwide has revealed the recipients for its top annual development awards in the Americas. Awards are presented in five categories across the company’s portfolio of hotels, including Developer of the Year, Best Conversion, Deal of the Year, Outstanding Achievement and Lifetime Achievement. Recipients are recognized based on criteria ranging from total number and quality of hotels developed to impact on community and fastest construction time. Once nominated, the finalists are chosen by Hilton Worldwide’s global brand heads.

“We are proud to celebrate the achievements of these valued Hilton Worldwide partners with whom we have developed strong relationships that have allowed us to expand our footprint not only in Americas, but globally,” said Matt Wehling, SVP, development – U.S. and Canada, Hilton Worldwide. “The growth and success of our portfolio of brands can be attributed to our dedicated owners who share innovative vision and leadership, service-oriented culture, exceptional management skills, and committed values.”

A Lifetime Achievement Award is given each year to a developer based on the commitment to his or her quality of projects, impact on local community, significant work in the development arena over a minimum of 20 years, as well as loyalty to the Hilton family of brands. This year’s award was given to Stephen L. Schwartz, chairman of First Hospitality Group, a leading developer, owner and operator of quality hotels in the Midwest since 1984.

“We couldn’t be happier to honor Steve and his entire team at First Hospitality Group with the Lifetime Achievement Award,” said Wehling. “Our relationship with Steve started more than 30 years ago, back in the Promus days of our company’s history and, since then, we’ve cultivated an invaluable partnership that helps bring our brands to life at his 20 Hilton Worldwide properties. We wish to congratulate him on this achievement.”

Each full-service and focused-service brand within the Hilton Worldwide portfolio of 12 market leading brands honors a Developer of the Year, who are chosen based on the number of deals approved and a combination of new projects and quality of projects that meets or exceeds brand standards. Award winners for 2014 include Wintergreen Hospitality, Driftwood Hospitality Management, Manga Hotels, DCG Development, First Hospitality Group & City Properties Group, Openning SpA, Northpoint Hospitality Group, Vista Host Hotel Development and Management, Kinseth Hospitality and Canalta Hotels.

Best Conversion award winners are chosen based on the nature of conversion, location and impact on community, total size and financial commitment, and creative use of set development standards. Winners include Thayer Lodging – Brookfield Hotel Properties, RLJ Lodging Trust, Lodging Hospitality Management, HMB Management Inc., Turf Hotels and Alliance Hospitality Inc.

Deal of the Year award winners are chosen based on the most creative process used to seal the deal against insurmountable obstacles, location and impact on community, unique look and feel of the hotel, as well as the size and scope of the project. They are Finard Hotel Group, Carvalho Hosken Hotelaria, Summit Hospitality Management Group, North Drop Associates, LLC, Landmark Holdings, The Malcolm Bryant Corporation, Legacy Hospitality, LLC, SilverBirch Hotels & Resorts and Widewaters Hotels, LLC.

Outstanding Achievement awards are given when a franchisee has achieved an extraordinary accomplishment, outside of the above categories. Winners include Inmobiliaria Canels, Penn Landing Partners, Inmobiliaria Canels, Roslyn O-S Hotel Partners, LLC, Inmobiliaria Canels, Aston Management Company and Widewaters Hotels, LLC.